Answered Prayer

 

Crosstowne Church in Milton donated the use of their church to us and we had opportunity to share some of our testimony and music with friends and family.

 

 

20170625_225724

20170626_082947

Meet Cameron.  Cameron is my youngest child.  On September 22, 2012 Cameron closed his eyes and went to be with Jesus.  He was 18.

A few months after Cameron’s death I came across his toy box that my brother made him.  In the bottom of the toy box was his baby blanket.  My stepmother made it for him when he was born.  It was made and given to me in Ontario.

20170626_084418

God has a plan for our lives.  He sets us in a path for our life but it’s up to us to be listening, paying attention and following the directions.  When God calls us to do something we don’t see the big picture.  We don’t always understand why he’s instructing us to do something.  The same is true with our earthly parents.  They make decisions for us to guide us in a certain direction.  We don’t always understand why but we should listen and trust.

In February 2013, 5 months after Cameron’s death.  I was struggling with these such decisions I had made as a parent.  I needed to know that Cameron had forgiven me for decisions I had made that maybe he didn’t understand.  I knew I wouldn’t be able to move forward until I let this go.  I was driving myself crazy obsessing over this.  I started begging God to please help me to let this go.  For three days leading up to a day in church I was relentless in prayer…please God, help me, I need to let this go.

We were attending a church in Minto, New Brunswick.  In the middle of the service a three year old girl came running up from Sunday school.  She was screaming “daddy, daddy, daddy”  Of course I turned around to discover her wearing this.

20170626_084238

I couldn’t breath.  I felt a huge jolt in my chest.  I knew this moment was for me.

When we pray, the answer to our prayers will never be in the form we think it should be.  God knows exactly what we need and when we need it.

To put this into perspective for you.  The blanket was made in Ontario 18 years prior to this event.  The dress was newly handmade 18 years later in New Brunswick. During Cameron’s lifetime and since, I have never encountered anything else made out of this fabric.  I have peace.

1 John 5:15  And if we know that he hears us -whatever we ask-we know that we have what we asked of Him

3 thoughts on “Answered Prayer

Leave a comment